Lamp on a Stand

‘No one lights a lamp and hides it in a jar or puts it under a bed. Instead, he puts it on a stand, so that those who come in can see the light. For there is nothing hidden that will not be disclosed, and nothing concealed that will not be known or brought out into the open. Therefore consider carefully how you listen. Whoever has will be given more; whoever does not have, even what he thinks he has will be taken from him.’  Luke 8:16-18

Having 21 years of life under my belt and having not gotten myself killed just yet, I feel I have earned my right to expect some independence and trust from my parents. My midnight curfew was lifted long ago and freedom typically abound regarding where I go or when I return. The late night calls when I’m out are less frequent (which I actually miss but I’ll never admit it) and I usually return home to find my parents already fast asleep. Hopefully these changes have stemmed from my parents seeing maturity and responsibility in my life as I have grown. One thing, however, remains unchanged – the porch light left on by my father. It’s always left on until I find my way home to switch it off for the night. His desire for me to be at home with him persists always as does my desire to find safety with him.

Know that Jesus shares this parable not for His sake but for ours. That we may grow in our faith by living it BOLDLY. That others may see it and know Jesus Christ for themselves. I’m reminded to live with faith that can be seen. And not so that I will be seen but so the God I serve can be seen! I’m reminded to live with vulnerability and openness because God’s light will reveal all regardless. Our readiness to bear the burdens of others brings so much glory to Him. This is such an exciting time to follow God.

~ by simonwho on April 1, 2010.

Leave a comment